What to remember while taking Anafranil

Global Co-Chairs

Kathy Hughes (WWF) and Brian Zimmerman (Bristol Zoological Society)

Kathy Hughes

Kathy Hughes is WWF’s Freshwater Biodiversity Leader and Asia-Pacific Freshwater Biodiversity Leader. Kathy has worked for WWF for ten years where she has focused on the conservation of freshwater biodiversity. She is particularly interested in freshwater biodiversity monitoring, strategic programme implementation, freshwater protected area efficacy, river basin governance and inland fisheries. Prior to working for WWF, Kathy worked for the Environment Agency and Chester Zoological Gardens. Kathy holds a BSc in Zoology and an MSc in Ecology. Following on from her MSc Kathy also studied with the Tropical Biology Association in Madagascar. In 2013 received the Emerging Professional Award from the International River Symposium. Kathy is also an active member of the Alliance for Freshwater Life, InFish and the Inland Fisheries Alliance and acts as an adviser to Shoal.

Brian Zimmerman

Brian Zimmerman is the Director of Conservation and Science of the Bristol Zoological Society (BZS), with Executive Board responsibility for BZS’s animals and curatorial and keeper teams at Bristol Zoo Gardens and the Wild Place Project, as well as its veterinary services, its Institute of Conservation Science and Learning (including the Higher Education and Field Conservation and Science departments). Prior to joining BZS, he was the Chief Zoological Officer at the Zoological Society of London. At ZSL, he created the Fish Net Programme, an international consortium of zoos, aquariums, research institutions and NGOs working to save threatened freshwater fish species from extinction. Brian sits on the European Association of Zoos and Aquaria’s (EAZA) Conservation Committee, the EEP Committee and is the Chair of the Freshwater Fish Taxonomic Advisory Group for EAZA. He is also a Committee member of the European Union of Aquarium Curators and an advisor to Shoal.

Former Global Chairs

Dr Richard Sneider (2014-2020)

Richard Sneider photo_cRichard Sneider is an accomplished entrepreneur, a conservationist and extreme explorer. Dr. Sneider is co-founder of One World Star Holdings International LTD (OSI), and its Chief Strategic Officer, overseeing its mergers and acquisitions. Dr. Sneider is also a principal of Earthbar LLC, a health supply retail company, and an investor and active participant in the GP Management of Primestor Properties LLC. Dr. Sneider holds degrees in Psychoanalysis and Philosophy and a PhD in Intellectual History from Claremont Graduate School, with a specialty in political ideology and hegemony identifying objectivity in strategy – a tool he has applied in his expeditions, and in business strategic planning; he has participated in conflict resolution negotiations in politically sensitive regions, and has partnered with the United Nations on initiatives. Dr. Sneider is a guest lecturer at Harvard Kennedy School Ash Center on Leadership and Conservation and is an IUCN Patron of Nature. Dr. Sneider has surveyed above and below water pristine places in the Americas, West Papua, Africa, Asia and the North Arctic. Dr. Sneider participates in a wide array of philanthropic initiatives earning him the 2017 Honoree of the City of Hope prestigious Spirit of Life award, and was recently featured in the book 100 Making a difference.

Professor Gordon McGregor Reid (2004-2013)

Gordon 004, 2010 ShadeGordon has had a diverse international career involving biological research, conservation, animal welfare and environmental education. He has authored more than 200 scientific publications, and held senior positions in zoos, museums and universities.

He is a Visiting Professor in the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Liverpool; Scientific Research Associate, British Museum of Natural History; and Director Emeritus of Chester Zoo (The North of England Zoological Society). He was Director General of Chester Zoo, for more than 15 years, until his retirement in 2010.

Gordon founded the Freshwater Fish Specialist Group  and served as Global Chair since it was established in 2004. He stepped down as Chair in December 2013.

Regional Chairs

To find out about the Regional Chairs for the Freshwater Fish Specialist Group, please visit the FFSG Regions page and click on the relevant region.

Steering Committee

Claudio Baigún (Wetlands International, Argentina)
David Cooper (Mahurangi Technical Institute, New Zealand)
Harmony Patricio (Griffith University, Australia)
Heather Koldewey (Zoological Society of London, UK)
Ian Harrison (Conservation International, USA)
Jörg Freyhof (Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB), Germany)
Matthew Gollock (Zoological Society of London, UK)
Michele Thieme (World Wildlife Fund, USA)
Pete Rand (IUCN Salmon Specialist Group)
Rajeev Raghavan (Conservation Research Group, St. Albert’s College, Kochi, India)
Roberto E. Reis (Catholic Pontifical University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Taej Mundkur (Wetlands International, The Netherlands)
Topiltzin Contreras MacBeath (University of Morelos, Mexico)
William Darwall (IUCN Freshwater Biodiversity Unit, UK)
Zeb Hogan (University of Nevada-Reno, USA)

Special Advisors to the FFSG

Biodiversity: Michele Thieme (World Wildlife Fund, USA)
Communications: Topis Contreras MacBeath (University of Morelos, Mexico)
Cryobiology: Krishen Rana (University of Stirling, UK)
FishBase: Rainer Froese (FishBase)
Fundraising: Ian Harrison (Conservation International, USA)
Gene banking: David Rawson (University of Bedfordshire, UK)
Geographic databases: Kevin Smith (IUCN Freshwater Biodiversity Unit, UK)
Migratory species: Zeb Hogan (University of Nevada-Reno, USA) and Claudio Baigún (Wetlands International, Argentina)
Re-introductions and ex situ conservation: Tim Lyons (New Mexico BioPark Society, USA)
Subterranean fishes: Graham Proudlove (University of Manchester, UK)
Sustainable Trade in Ornamental Fishes: Scott Dowd (New England Aquarium, USA)
Taxonomy: Nathan Lujan (University of Toronto, Scarborough)

Freshwater representatives to the IUCN SSC Red List Committee: Jörg Freyhof (Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB), berlin, Germany); Rajeev Raghavan (Conservation Research Group, St. Albert’s College, Kochi, India)